Edfringe producer rises question of what to take to the Edinburgh festival

I have been approached several times over the last couple of weeks by different people wanting my opinion about what they should take to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe next year.

I have a real problem with giving advice on this; people say to me that I know audiences and would I help them (which I am really flattered and touched by) but here’s the rub… I don’t really approach my own work in that way!

Sure, I definitely think about whether our audience would enjoy the stories I am considering telling but to be totally honest I pick the one we all want to tell and then make sure we tell it in a way that would intrigue, excite and immerse our intended audience. That’s what I do.

Which is what leaves me in a bit of a quandary. Because when I explain this, people think I’m trying to avoid the question. But I’m not. I’m being wholly honest. Tell the story you’d enjoy in the way you’d enjoy seeing and hearing it and other people will too.

Now marketing it is another issue!

Spotlites are proud winners of their Edinburgh Three Weeks editor’s award in 2011
2 thoughts on “Edfringe producer rises question of what to take to the Edinburgh festival

Leave a Reply

